Second day of ISIEA’09

ISIEA’09 is the most varied conference I attended so far. Usually, conferences are more or less focussed on a specific topic. Here, everything vaguely industrial is a welcome topic: one speaker discussed optimal pump control to avoid cavitation, another an automatic ablution machine using machine vision… I think this kind of conference is very stimulating because you get to discover areas of research you did not necessarily knew about.

*
* *

I presented my paper on the speeding up of motion estimation in video coding using SIMD instructions and approximate metrics—I will put the paper and the slides online when I return. I think the presentation went pretty well, as it drew some attention.

Leave a Reply

